Monday, May 20, 2024

ABC Wins 2022 Gold Walkley Award

The ABC’s journalism has been richly awarded at the 2022 Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism, including winning top honour the Gold Walkley.

Anne Connolly, Stephanie Zillman and Ali Russell took the Gold, as well as the award for Public Service Journalism, for their gripping investigation “State Control”, the year-long investigation into Public Guardian and Trustee agencies, which control the lives of around 50,000 Australians.

The judges said: “This was enlightening and determined reporting, giving power to voiceless people and allowing them to tell a story of complete powerlessness. Prompting debate about law reform in various states, it has the potential to effect large-scale public policy reform.”

In all the ABC had 26 finalists across 15 categories in this year’s Walkley Awards, which were announced in Sydney on Thursday night.

Former Four Corners Executive Producer Sally Neighbour was also honoured for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism.

“These awards are testament to the talent, hard work and incredible dedication of our people,” said ABC Director, News Justin Stevens.

“Our journalists and teams are passionate about bringing the best public interest journalism to Australians and it’s wonderful to see their hard work recognised by their peers.

“The ABC’s journalism has never been stronger, more impactful or more accessible to all Australians.”

The coverage of the Northern Rivers flood catastrophe by the ABC’s North Coast team of Joanne Shoebridge, Julie Ray, Renata Gombac and Justine Frazier was awarded for best Coverage of Community & Regional Affairs.

Across the globe, Sean Rubinsztein-Dunlop‘s searing reporting on war crimes in Ukraine won for best Radio/Audio News and Current Affairs.

Brendan Esposito was named Press Photographer of the Year.

The compelling investigation by Lorna Knowles, Nikki Tugwell and Clare Blumer, Painful Past: the John Wright series, took two awards, for Sports Journalism and short-form TV/Video Current Affairs.

The award for long-form TV/Video Current Affairs went to Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft and Lauren Day for their investigation Cosmetic Cowboys: The unregulated world of cosmetic surgery, which included stories for The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and Four Corners.

Ryan Sheridan won TV Camerawork for his skilful  work on Four Corners reports Despair and Defiance and Feral.

The Innovation prize went to Mark Doman, Michael Slezak and the Digital Story Innovations team for their work using 3D techniques to tell immersive stories in Lawless’ loggers; Culture in the Crosshairs, The ‘Syria playbook, and How a Tongan volcano shocked the world.


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles