Free Porn
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Joffe Wins Milli Award for Aussie Cinematographer of the Year

At this year’s Fujinon Fujifilm Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) National Awards, the society’s night of nights as ever MC’d by Australian TV celebrity Ray Martin AM, it was Abraham Joffe (Tales By Light – Darren Jew: Submerged) who was awarded the coveted Milli for Australian Cinematographer of the Year.

Joffe, an internationally award-winning Australian cinematographer who has gained a growing reputation for his documentary and nature productions said, “Tonight I had the enormous honour of receiving the Australian Cinematographers Society’s Milli award for Cinematographer of the Year. I can honestly say this is one of the biggest highlights of my career to date and I am incredibly proud and humbled to have won this prestigious award.”

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS said, “Abraham is an incredibly worthy winner of the Milli. An experienced underwater cinematographer who started his career shooting for the late filmmaker and adventurer Malcolm Douglas in the far reaches of the Kimberly’s in Western Australia, he was an early adopter of 4K taking his cameras to all seven continents. Having founded the Untitled Film Works production company in 2000 Abraham is well known and highly regarded for his unique and creative storytelling.”

Joining Abraham Joffe on the winners podium in the iconic Strangers Dining Room at NSW Parliament House were, amongst others, Byron D’Arcy who won the CineKids award for Instinct, Louie Eroglu ACS who took the Current Affairs Gold Tripod for State of Fear, Bruce Young who took the Drama or Comedy Series and Telefeatures Award for The Secret River and Stefan Duscio who took home the Cinema Gold Tripod for Backtrack.

Meg White was awarded The Drew Llewelyn ACS Camerimage Scholarship while Mark Kenfield won The ACS – John Leake OAM ACS Award and Lifetime Membership was bestowed on David Burr ACS with Mandy Waker ACS ASC and the evening’s guest of honour Stephen Windon ACS ASC were both inducted into the ACS Hall of Fame.

All in all another wonderful night, with Ron Johanson OAM ACS concluding, “I would like to congratulate all the winners at the 2017 ACS National Awards. What is particularly pleasing is the amount of young talented cinematographers we have coming through. This can only mean the ACS will continue to go from strength to strength. I would also like to thank all of our national sponsors for their generous and continued support, and the NSW committee for hosting these 2017 awards.”


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles