Free Porn
Sunday, July 14, 2024

Optus Sport Secures Rights to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Optus Sport has been awarded the Australian media rights to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, anticipated to be one of the biggest sporting events in Australia since the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, comprises 32 teams, with the first match kicking off at Auckland’s Eden Park on 20 July 2023, and concluding with the final played at Sydney’s Stadium Australia.

Commenting on the tournament, Optus Chief Executive Kelly Bayer Rosmarin said, “We are delighted to not only support the most exciting women’s sporting event in the world, hosted right here on our home soil, but also to demonstrate our unwavering commitment to growing women’s sport in this country.”

“This is truly a unique opportunity for Australians to stand behind our world leading Matildas and enjoy every action-packed moment of the tournament.”

Optus Sport will stream all 64 World Cup matches live and produce programming, highlights and other digital content to provide Australians with the most comprehensive coverage ever of a FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Ms Bayer Rosmarin said with interest in women’s football and the Matildas growing significantly in Australia, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 would be one of the largest and most unifying events since the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

“We are passionate about bringing the Matildas and the other 31 participating teams to as many Australians as possible.”

Optus Vice President TV, Content and Product Development, Clive Dickens, said women’s football is a core element of Optus Sport’s elite football offering, and would result in unprecedented coverage that would draw even more Australian fans to women’s football.

“We have built an unparalleled pedigree in enhancing and supporting women’s football and building unique customer relationships with football fans, from the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 in France to being amongst the first broadcasters of the Barclay’s FA Women’s Super League, to recently securing the exclusive rights to the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 in England.”

“The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 represents a huge opportunity to help drive growth and visibility of women’s football in Australia and deliver football fans the best-ever coverage.

“We are committed to changing the future children see and the importance of promoting women in sport to drive that change. It is a privilege, and an endorsement of our credentials by FIFA, to be awarded the rights to showcase this monumental event,” Mr Dickens said.

Sarai Bareman, Chief Women’s Football Officer, FIFA said, “FIFA is excited to welcome Optus Sport as our official broadcaster of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ for Australia. Optus has shown a strong commitment to broadcasting women’s football and this deal will provide unprecedented coverage in Australia for the tournament, as well as bringing women’s football to more fans and new audiences. We look forward to working with Optus to promote the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 to accelerate the growth of the women’s game in Australia in the lead up to 2023.”

One of Australia’s most capped representative football players and ex-Matilda Heather Garriock said, “The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is not just a football tournament, it’s one of the world’s biggest events and to host it in Australia and New Zealand is a dream come true. Young boys and girls, mums and dads will get the chance to see their role models – the Matildas – who are amongst the best players in the world.”

Optus will provide further details of its broadcast plans, commentary team and other innovations relating to the tournament closer to the event including plans to co-broadcast key matches on free-to-air television – including all Matildas matches.

The 9 Host Cities and 10 stadiums for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 are:

  • Adelaide – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau – Eden Park
  • Brisbane – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin / Ōtepoti – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton / Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth – Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington / Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Stadium


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles