Thursday, April 18, 2024

TVNZ and RNZ Board Appointments Announced

New Zealand’s Minister for Broadcasting and Media, Willie Jackson, has announced the appointment of new members to the boards of RNZ and TVNZ.

“This Government supports RNZ and TVNZ in being world leaders in providing trusted news and stories that reflect our unique way of life and culture and these appointments will help drive both outlets into a new era,” said Willie Jackson. “The boards of RNZ and TVNZ have an incredibly important role in shaping the direction of public media in Aotearoa.

“We are excited to have selected a range of talented individuals to take up these vital leadership roles. The line-up includes some familiar faces and a wide range of expertise across public media, governance, marketing, finance, law and cultural development.”

Strategic consultant, accountant and skilled leader Dr Jim Mather (Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe) has been reappointed as Chair of the RNZ Board, alongside Irene Gardiner, Michael O’Donnell and Jane Wrightson. Broadcaster Jason Ake (Ngāti Ranginui) and experienced governor Sina Wendt join the Board for the first time.

At TVNZ, Alastair Carruthers will take up the role of Chair, with Ripeka Evans (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Kahu, Te Aupouri and Ngāti Porou) joining him as Deputy Chair. Alastair brings expertise in financial management, communications, and digital technology and systems to the Board. Ripeka is an experienced leader with a strong background in television, broadcasting and Māori development.

Meg Matthews (Ngāi Tahu) and Aliesha Staples have been reappointed as directors of TVNZ and will be joined on the Board by lawyer and former broadcaster Linda Clark and experienced governor and strategic thinker John Quirk.

“I am excited to see these two Boards take shape to lead RNZ and TVNZ into the future,” Willie Jackson said. “I am especially pleased to see the mix of commercial and public media experience, alongside a good balance of fresh faces and institutional knowledge.

“These appointments represent an exciting new era for our public broadcasters as they continue to tackle the challenges of our changing digital and media landscape, ensuring that our public media is serving all people of Aotearoa now and into the future.”

After these appointments, both Boards will have six members. A further member for each Board will be sought later this year for a 2024 start, to allow further opportunity to complement the existing skills and experience.

The terms of Jim Mather, Irene Gardiner, Jane Wrightson (RNZ) and Alastair Carruthers, Ripeka Evans, Aliesha Staples (TVNZ) are three years commencing on 1 July 2023.
The terms of Jason Ake, Sina Wendt (RNZ) and Linda Clark, Meg Matthews, John Quirk (TVNZ) are two years commencing on 1 July 2023.

Michael O’Donnell’s (RNZ) term is one year commencing on 1 July 2023.


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles