Free Porn
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Optus Sport Secures Rights to UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

Optus Sport has secured the rights to the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022, regarded as the most prestigious national women’s team competition in the world after the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 will feature five of the six top ranked teams in the world. Optus Sport says the competition will provide Australian fans the opportunity to see the level that the Matildas will need to be at in order to compete at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, which Australia is jointly hosting. Australia is currently ranked 7th in the FIFA rankings.

For Optus Sport’s Head of TV & Content, Corin Dimopoulos, the announcement not only solidifies its position as the home of premium football, but also strengthens Optus Sport’s association with women’s football both in Australia and around the world.

“No matter what the code, every year we are continuing to observe exponential growth in women’s sport across the globe, and we saw this as a terrific opportunity to continue our investment in this market,” said Mr Dimopoulos. “We had tremendous success streaming the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019, have seen great interest in the Barclays Women’s Super League and are continuing to look into acquiring future women’s football leagues and tournaments.”

The acquisition means that Optus Sport now holds both the men’s and women’s European Championships and will show every match live from both tournaments. The UEFA Euro 2020 was delayed due to COVID-19 and will now be played in June and July 2021 across Europe with all 51 matches live and on-demand on Optus Sport.

‘We are delighted to welcome Optus Sport as our official broadcaster of the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 in Australia. This deal now means they will transmit both the UEFA Men’s and Women’s European Championships in the next two years, providing unprecedented coverage of both tournaments in Australia’ said Guy-Laurent Epstein UEFA Events Marketing Director.

The UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 will be held from the 6th to 31st July 2022. The tournament will feature the top 16 European teams who qualify, grouped into 4 groups of 4 teams. All 31 games will be exclusively live on Optus Sport.

The tournament will be held in England with the final played in Wembley. Teams qualified already are Belgium (FIFA rank 17) Denmark (FIFA rank 14, England (hosts and FIFA rank 6), France (FIFA rank 3), Germany (FIFA rank 2), Iceland (FIFA rank 16), Netherlands (holders and FIFA rank 4 ), Norway (FIFA rank 11), Spain (FIFA rank 12), and Sweden (FIFA rank 5). Six positions still remain to be filled with teams vying for qualification later in 2021.


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles